Fact Sheets
  Home Fact Sheets Links Copyright and Disclaimer Privacy Statement Contact

Fact Sheets

Commonwealth of Nations voluntary association of 54 nations (term generally shortened to ‘the Commonwealth’)
Head of the Commonwealth Her Majesty The Queen – the chosen symbol of free association of Commonwealth members, although the position of Head implies no executive or constitutional power
Commonwealth Secretariat principal organisation, or headquarters, of The Commonwealth
Commonwealth Secretary-General elected by Heads of Government for a maximum of two four-year terms – currently Rt Hon Don McKinnon
Head of Government Prime Minister or President of a Commonwealth member nation
Head of Delegation a Prime Minister, President, Minister or other senior government official appointed to Head a country’s delegation to CHOGM
pan-Commonwealth Commonwealth-wide


BCEC Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre
CBC Commonwealth Business Council
CHOGM Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting
CMAG Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group on the Harare Declaration
COL Commonwealth of Learning
COMSEC Commonwealth Secretariat
COW Committee of the Whole
CPC Commonwealth People’s Centre
CPTM Commonwealth Partnerships for Technology Management
HLRG High Level Review Group
MGSS Ministerial Group on Small States
NGO non-government organisation
SOM Senior Officials’ Meeting